Isle of Man News - POSTED Thu 05-01-2017

General Election Committee – Oral Evidence

by LC

The Select Committee on the Organization and Operation of the General Election intends to hear oral evidence in public at 10.30am on Thursday 12th January 2017.

Evidence will be given by the following persons at the times shown:

10:30 A G Cowie, Chairman and Peter Whiteway, Clerk, Ramsey Town Commissioners
11:10 Paul Cowin, Assistant Town Clerk, Douglas Borough Council
11:50 The Speaker of the House of Keys, the Hon Juan Watterson SHK
13:40 Hon Alfred Cannan MHK
14:20 Louise Whitelegg
15:00 Juan Moore, CEO, Isle of Man Law Society
16:00 Will Greenhow, Chief Secretary, Della Fletcher, Director of External Relations and Kirsty Hemsley, Senior External Relations Officer

The evidence will be heard in public in the Legislative Council Chamber, Legislative Buildings, Bucks Road, Douglas. Members of the public are welcome to attend or to listen via the audio webcast service on the Tynwald website.

The Committee was established by Tynwald on Tuesday 18th October 2016 with a remit to consider all aspects of the organization and operation of the General Election 2016; and to make recommendations for future practice in elections to the House of Keys; and to report no later than the April 2017 sitting of Tynwald.

Written evidence published by the Committee can be read here:

A transcription of oral evidence heard by the Committee on 9th December 2016 can be read here:

The members elected to the Committee by Tynwald are Mr David Ashford MHK, Miss Clare Bettison MHK, Mrs Daphne Caine MHK, Mr David Cretney MLC and Mr Martyn Perkins MHK. The Committee has elected Mr David Cretney as its Chair.

Bringing You Isle of Man News and Sports Items

Send your press releases to:
Got a news story: Contact Joanne Clague on 340000 or email
For MTTV news: contact Paul Moulton on 310000 or email

Service Status Virus Scan